Silloth on Solway is a charming town which owes its name to the Cistercian monks from Holme Cultram Abbey, in nearby Abbeytown who named it after the silos known as ‘lathes’ in which they stored grain, and these ‘lathes’ being by the sea, then became ‘sea-lathes’ which over the passage of time became 'Silloth'. The wide street planning, tree-lined cobbled streets, large green and stunning promenade are notably of Victorian design.
In August of 1856 the Silloth railway was opened to link the port with the national rail network. By 1862, Silloth had begun to develop as a resort and the line was always popular, bringing hoards of visitors to Silloth from Carlisle and the towns of West Cumberland. For local people, it provided a connection with the main line services at Carlisle and was the main method of transport for farmers’ livestock and crops. The line was nationalised after the second world war, becoming part of British Railways, and was closed as part of the ‘Beeching Cuts’ on September 7, 1964. This closure destroyed Silloth’s function as a seaside tourist destination.
Silloth today has a population of approximately 3500 and is very much back on the map as a tourist destination. The development of two large holiday caravan parks in the 1970's paid testament to this and they both still flourish today attracting thousands of visitors all year round.
Built by a Carlisle man in the 1870’s with granite imported form Ireland along with sandstone and brick, Christ Church still retains its original design with no additions being made to the building. It is a stunning church overlooking the town green and with a spire that can be seen for miles around, clearly marking Silloth’s place on the landscape. The church is one of several denominational places of worship.